• State Assessments

    California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)
    The assessments in the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) are an important part of the state assessment system. The assessments provide information that can be used to determine how well students are achieving on state standards. These standards describe the knowledge and skills students should learn in each grade.

    All students in grades three through eight, and eleven in California’s public schools participate in CAASPP each spring. This includes students with disabilities and students who are English learners. CAASPP testing is administered online, and includes the following assessments:

    Smarter Balanced Assessments
    The Smarter Balanced Assessments are online assessments in English language arts/literacy and mathematics. They are aligned to the California State Standards and are given in grades 3 to 8 and grade 11. To access the Smarter Balanced Assessment online practice test, click here.

    Grade 5, 8 and 10 Science
    Students in grade 5, 8 and 10 take an online assessment in science, aligned to the new Next Generation Science Standards. Depending on the student’s needs, he or she will take the California Science Test (CAST) or the California Alternate Assessment for Science (CAA Science).

    California Alternate Assessment (CAA)
    Some special education students in grades 3 to 8 and grade 11 take the California Alternate Assessment (CAA). The CAA is for students with significant cognitive disabilities and is an online assessment.

    Standards Test in Spanish (STS)
    Spanish-speaking English learners who have been enrolled in the United States public schools less than 12 months will take the STS in addition to the English language tests for their grade level. These are paper-pencil assessments.

    Physical Fitness Testing

    Students in fifth, seventh, and ninth grade participate in fitness testing each spring. The tests cover six areas of fitness. The window for
    administration runs February through April.

    California English Language Development Test (CELDT)
    Students in kindergarten through grade twelve whose home language is not English are required by law to take an English skills test. In California, the test is called the CELDT. The CELDT is administered in the fall at the start of the school year.
    The CELDT helps schools identify students who need to improve their skills in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in English. It is also give each year to students who are still learning English.